Memorial 5K

When my grandfather, John Alan Hord, died on Mother’s Day 2008, Ivan and Camilla and I got in the car for a memorial drive. Granddaddy loved to take drives to see things and buy peaches or whatever was fresh at the farm stands.

We were living in Memphis, TN at the time. We decided to head north and ended up at Fort Pillow, a Civil War site on the Chickasaw Bluffs overlooking the Mississippi River.

Well, right after Mother’s Day this year, 2012, Ivan’s family lost their beloved Lottie Newton. To me, technically, she was my mother-in-law’s sister-in-law, but that sounds silly. She was Aunt Lottie, a beautiful, vibrant woman with a smile built right in to her voice. Here is a link to her obituary in the Charlotte Observer.

Lottie Spence Newton Obituary: View Lottie Newton’s Obituary by Charlotte Observer.

Lottie was a runner and liked to travel for “destination runs.” Among her destinations was Garden of the Gods in Colorado Springs, a run which Ivan and I will re-create in her honor when we visit there in August.

I don’t know if Aunt Lottie ever made it to Northern California, but I think she would have liked it. So I am dedicating today’s slide show–a 5K run I took last week in Ancil Hoffman Park and Effie Yeaw Nature Center in Sacramento–to her. We’ll miss you, Aunt Lottie.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

